overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

thoughts of easter

with one comment

there’s not really any thoughts i have about easter that haven’t been said a thousand times already and a thousand times better. so keeping that in mind, i thought that instead of trying to outdo all those other more eloquent people i’d just copy what they’ve already said. once again, it’s from a hymn that was recently redone by sufjan stevens. there’s one particular part of the song that gets me every time, and puts so well what i think every christian who wants to be right with God feels. if you want to take a listen to the song, it really is a beautiful rendition. here’s the lyrics as they are in this version.

“Come, Thou Fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace
Streams of mercy, never ceasing
Call for songs of loudest praise
Teach me some melodious sonnet
Sung by flaming tongues above
Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it
Mount of Thy unchanging love

Here I raise my Ebenezer
Here there by Thy great help I’ve come
And I hope, by Thy good pleasure
Safely to arrive at home
Jesus sought me when a stranger
Wandering from the fold of God
He, to rescue me from danger
Interposed His precious blood

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be
Let that grace now, like a fetter
Bind my wandering heart to Thee
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love
Here’s my heart, oh, take and seal it
Seal it for Thy courts above

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace
Streams of mercy, never ceasing
Call for songs of loudest praise
Teach me some melodious sonnet
Sung by flaming tongues above
Praise the mount, I’m fixed upon it
Mount of Thy unchanging love”

Written by matt

March 23, 2008 at 10:54 pm

Posted in God

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. we sang that one on good friday.
    there just aren’t many songs out there that force you to be as honest as this one does.

    – nate.

    Nathan

    March 24, 2008 at 8:17 am


Leave a Reply

