overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

i’m going deaf

with one comment

I wish that was just an expression this time around. unfortunately, it’s not. at spirit west coast the other weekend, they had an ear doctor on site who was taking free impressions of artist’s ears for the purpose of the artists getting custom molded in ear monitors. those are amazing little gadgets by the way. the ear doctor looked at my right ear drum and said it looked great. then he looked at my left drum and said, “hm, you have about a 25 decibel loss on that side.” I’m guessing that’s not too horrible because I don’t notice it too much. I do notice it more now though. so it’s either all in my head and I’m going crazy or I’m actually going deaf. neither prospect is very attractive.

i haven’t been taking very good care of myself. the hearing thing got me thinking about that. I used to wear ear plugs on stage religiously, but I haven’t for at least a year and a half. i’ve been horrible about eating good things and worse about exercising. I haven’t seen a doctor for at least the better part of a decade. it’s probably been even longer since going to a dentist. I’m supposed to change out my contacts for a fresh pair every two weeks and I’m embarrassed to say I don’t remember when the last time that happened was.

why do we as humans do and say things to ourselves that we would never do to anyone else?

Written by matt

August 3, 2008 at 7:12 am

Posted in on the road

Tagged with , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yup. same. left side = monitor side.

    nryan

    November 2, 2008 at 2:37 pm


Leave a Reply

