overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

i’ve figured out a couple things

with 2 comments

nothing very important, but i feel i should share and it’s going to take more than 140 characters.

1. if you think of lady gaga as a performance artist working in the music medium and NOT as a musical arist, it’ll make you less angry about how she could possibly be famous. for example, listening to “bad romance” as a song can make one’s ears bleed. but, if you look at the big picture of what she’s doing as some sort of subversive critique of the music industry and the idea of fame what she’s doing is downright genius.

2. yes, covering the new iphone’s antenna makes it lose reception. also, covering the camera makes it unable to take pictures, and covering the screen renders the retina display useless. i haven’t dropped a call in the week i’ve owned it. that number is way down from 7+ a day.

3. a day after the new twilight movie opened, “deathly hallows” is the top trending topic on twitter and neither “twilight” nor “eclipse” is on the list. there’s a couple reasons for this, but i think i know what the biggest one is. the twilight series is very literally a fad. the harry potter series has been around since most of the current audience for it was in grade school.

4. soccer will never catch on in the u.s. because of the game clock. if you don’t know how long a regulation FIFA game is to begin with, it’s an unspecified time commitment. most americans just can’t do it. if you don’t know, the game is supposed to last 90 minutes, but the clock doesn’t count down in game segments. so you can be halfway into the second half and watch the clock go from 70 minutes to 71 minutes and then be wondering when exactly this game will be over. that’s without bringing into account the whole “injury time” thing which is a separate monster

Written by matt

June 30, 2010 at 11:09 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1. I still can’t stand the women. She is neither talented, nor attractive. I just don’t get the appeal. 🙂
    2. I want a new iphone, I just don’t want to switch to ATT&T. For now, I’m a verizon loyal.
    3. I’m both a Harry Potter and Twilight die-hard nerd…I read the series before I see the movies. Although, I will admit I LOVE the Harry Potter series FAR more than Twilight, and I’ve read the entire series more than Twilight. Plus, I like to see all of the movies at midnight….I totally get wrapped up in the ridiculous frenzy. 🙂
    4. Ya…I don’t have the attention span for it. I watched one game because everyone else who I was with at the time were watching it…not a fan. Ha.

    Thanks for your thoughts Matty! I enjoy reading them!

    Robin Moore

    July 7, 2010 at 9:12 am

  2. Wow there are a lot of typos. Oops.

    Robin Moore

    July 7, 2010 at 9:12 am


Leave a Reply

