overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

dec 2, 2010

with 5 comments

I’m gonna try something new and see if I can actually write one blog a day from today until the end of the month. this means two things: I’ll be writing way more often than I have in a very long time, and each blog post will be considerably shorter than every other thing I’ve written.
usually, November is the month that people try to write one blog a day for the whole month. frankly, the concept of one a day is daunting to me for one reason. it takes me forever to write one blog. that thing I wrote a couple years ago about not having a dad that a lot of people read took (if I remember right) several hours over the course of a couple days. that actually got me thinking that I also have that problem speaking to people, too. if I’m trying to communicate my heart and soul, I just get stuck. even writing this right now I was on kind of a roll until I hit that last sentence. that whole thing actually gets me in trouble in my closer relationships. because I tend to give off the air of ambivalence about most everything, the people closest to me have a tendency to think I simply don’t care that much about them, which is through no fault of theirs. that scares me the more I think about it. my closest relationships, my wife, my band, my family, and someday my children might never get a good picture of how much I care about them because I have such a hard time verbally communicating.
I do have hope that I’m getting better though. some people who may have known me for nine or ten years could probably attest to that.
so now I’ve started #decemberblogging

Written by matt

December 2, 2010 at 9:31 pm

Posted in decemberblogging

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome back my fellow blogger. It’s been a long time. Us non-verbal communicators need to stick together.

    Nesha

    December 2, 2010 at 10:10 pm

  2. Right on! Stoked to read, man.

    Nate

    December 2, 2010 at 10:14 pm

  3. Me too! Very stoked to read, man. The snow reminds me of an Atari game. Pong or Astroids but without the big transparent chunks.

    lori zimbardi

    December 3, 2010 at 9:10 am

  4. nice, love this blog, how do I subscribe

    narnia

    December 10, 2010 at 3:45 pm

  5. […] i haven’t written much in here about the prospect of becoming a father.  most of the reason for that is because it hasn’t really been public knowledge for very long.  there’s been a few hints at it in some of my posts this month, specifically the first one of this month for dec 2. […]


Leave a Reply

