overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

dec 6, 2010

with 4 comments

we shot a music video over the weekend, and now that it’s over all i want to do is eat like a fat kid and chop off all my hair. that, however, would be counterproductive to the past couple years of trying to form any kind of look for myself so i won’t. some of you who’ve known me for a while know that i lost some weight a little while ago. if you haven’t known me for a while, here’s proof that i was at one point a 5′ 6″ 215 pound person. my old driver’s license picture:

the funny thing is, i don’t know if i’ve ever really explained to anyone why exactly i chose to make that kind of change. a couple years ago my band comprised of our pretty muscular lead singer, a six-foot-something guitar player who’s as skinny as a rail, and his equally proportioned brother who played drums. i stuck out like a sore thumb. (i just wrote that and then realized exactly how literal that phrase applied to the situation.) whether it was my own perception or not, i just got so sick of not fitting in with the rest of my band on stage and in pictures. i basically just got disgusted with myself enough to make a change. while i admit that self loathing can be a powerful motivator, i don’t know now if that’s necessarily the most emotionally healthy one. maybe it’s a good place to start from and just isn’t a good long term motivator. i think that’s why 2+ years later i have such a hard time keeping from throwing in the towel with this whole thing and putting on twenty more pounds because i’m getting older so why not?

all that said, i don’t actually want to just put on a bunch of weight. i am going to need a more positive motivation though. preferably sooner than later

Written by matt

December 6, 2010 at 7:23 pm

Posted in decemberblogging

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. good for you Matt! keep strong. Uncle Mike and I have both lost about 45lbs each!! It feels wonderful! Being healthy is so important too. I’m so proud of you and all you do with your band. Don’t forget to keep in touch with us (your family). We love you much.

    aunt jamie

    December 6, 2010 at 8:05 pm

  2. Sometimes, the skinny six-foot-something rail isn’t as it’s always cracked up to be. I guess the grass is always greener… right?

    David

    December 6, 2010 at 8:31 pm

  3. Hi Matt: You really look GREAT. Going to a gym or working out would help you keep the weight down and let you eat”. I imagine being married to a great cook makes it all that harder to keep weight off.
    Just take care of yourself, dear Matt, that is the most important thing. Your family loves you at whatever weight you are….YOU are important to us and we are very proud of you.

    Gramma

    Grandma

    December 6, 2010 at 9:53 pm

  4. Positive motivation? It’s HEALTHY.

    If you watch The Biggest Loser (my guilty pleasure of course) for any length of time, you’d see how, by simply eating right and exercising, these people completely change their lives, health-wise. Risk factors for pretty much everything go way down. Ha, your nurse wife should know all this in way more detail, more than my simple little mind.
    However, as long as you are eating healthy and exercising, that’s what counts. There is such a thing as a super unhealthy, “blessed” skinny person who doesn’t have to try (I’m dating one). I’d rather try for it thought, because this way I know my insides are healthy too.

    Ok…enough of my rant. I think ya look good mattyq. And I can say that because we’ve been friends since we were both fat kids. Literally…fat kids. 😉

    Robin

    December 6, 2010 at 10:26 pm


Leave a Reply

