overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

dec 8, 2010

with one comment

I had a dentist appointment today. if you happen to follow me on twitter, you might be surprised to hear that being that I didn’t write four separate tweets about how much I hate going to the dentist. it would be like there being an earthquake without @jprisant tweeting about how much he hates earthquakes.
I’ve had a lot of dentist appointments recently which is what happens when you don’t go for over a decade. all things considered though, my teeth aren’t in bad shape. actually, one of my teeth is in bad shape. that’s because it’s not in the shape of a tooth at all. more on that later.
today was a bit different for me in regards to my disdain for the dentist. my last several trips haven’t been as bad as my childhood memory would make me think they would be. the visit I was most afraid of was the first one though. I have that weird tooth I just mentioned and the last time I’d been to the dentist was when I needed major work done. the thing that never got worked on was that one tooth though. I was honestly scared and freaked out about what laid ahead of me with 10+ years of neglect compounded into the situation plus the possibility of some jerk dentist shaking his head in shame about how it’s been so long and lecturing me about not flossing. (dentists of the world: we all know nobody flosses.) my next appointment is going to take care of that tooth though, which, because of my last visits, makes me surprisingly comfortable with what’s going to happen. it’s exciting to me that I won’t feel so self conscious about my secret dental shame. with that in mind, the following is a picture of the x-ray of my weird tooth. the view is straight on, it just actually looks like that. I know. I’m a freak.

Written by matt

December 8, 2010 at 9:00 pm

Posted in decemberblogging

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Being afraid of the dentist is normal Matt… Once you get stuff taken care of then go every 6mos to a year tho, you’ll lose that fear. And guess what… I FLOSS!! Actually about 3 times a day. My biggest fear is all my teeth falling out in the middle of the night, thus the flossing.
    Love ya,
    Aunt Jamie ❤

    aunt jamie

    December 10, 2010 at 7:49 am


Leave a Reply

