overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

dec 10, 2010

with 3 comments

I know, I’m late to the party. I discovered pandora a few weeks ago. that’s a crime for a music lover, I get it. practically speaking, it doesn’t make sense for me to be addicted to it or anything. it’s not like I’m gonna spend hours listening to music through my laptop speakers. I did just get it for my iPhone though. I pretty much only listen to it at barnes and noble where there’s free wifi so I don’t use all my 3G data allowance. it also helps that I have great headphones now.
I’m developing a love/hate relationship with pandora. I guess more specifically I’m developing a love/hate relationship with the music genome project. I love getting suggestions for music I may never have heard before. I really don’t like some of the suggestions I get though. for example, putting on the raconteurs led to a suggestion for the newest black keys album, which I’ve wanted to hear but hadn’t gotten a chance to yet. pandora also thought that since I enjoyed those two, clearly I would also want to listen to jimi Hendrix. I don’t though. I don’t like his music. I get it, I respect it, I appreciate it’s value, and I’ll defend it’s importance. it’s just not for me. I’ll probably never put it on purposefully. but, according to the music genome project, I should love it. most people, even you personally, would probably assume that I would enjoy jimi’s music if you knew I liked the other ones. and what most people and the music genome project would agree on is that they all three “sound alike.” they don’t to me. at all. I can see the comparison, they just sound different to me.
i didn’t really feel too strongly about all these recommendations that pandora was giving to me until I looked at the song description thing they give you to explain why they thought it was a logical song to sneak into the playlist. it gives descriptions for the song like “minor chord tonality, use of distorted guitar, heavy drums,” etc. to me that just takes so much artistry and emotion out of music when you describe it in clinical terms like that.
aside from my perhaps too strong feelings about how music gets described, I don’t like being told what I should or shouldn’t like. or what i should feel. which makes this the longest way possible to confess that i just don’t like christmas music. nope, i don’t hear those sleigh bells ringing. stop trying to make feel something, crappy three-note melody.
on the bright side, i’m not inundated with christmas music this year because i chose not to go back to work at see’s. remembering that just gave me some holiday cheer

Written by matt

December 10, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Posted in decemberblogging

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I sense you are very passionate about this but why not just thumbs down and skip Jimi so you dont have to hear him and move on to the next choice?

    Lori Zimbardi

    December 10, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    • it’s actually a losing battle. if i thumbs down jimi, i just get led zeppelin, which i’m also not a fan of. then it suggests any blues rock stuff, which i’m generally not a fan of. before i know it, i’m listening to more intermittent ads than anything else

      matt

      December 10, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  2. pandora gets on my nerves most of the time. i’d rather handpick a playlist of songs i like and listen to em. haha

    Lori Jo

    December 11, 2010 at 11:58 pm


Leave a Reply

