overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

dec 12, 2010

with 3 comments

I went to a memorial service on Saturday. I’ll be honest, I didn’t really know the guy. he was married to one of my aunts for only about a year, and I met him one time. my family is not one for a lot of formality, and neither was he from what I know about him. the memorial service was held in a picnic area at a nice big park. some people brought flowers to put next to a little collage that my aunt put together that was on display. because he had only recently moved back to this side of the country, there wasn’t a lot of people that knew him that were able to make it. most of the people there were his co-workers or relatives of my aunt and thus had only known him for a very short time. the remembrance was brief and meaningful, and a couple people were able to share some memories and feelings. afterwards, lunch was provided and we all ate some of his favorite foods. it was respectful, and indeed a celebration of his life.

I have to confess that whenever I’m at a funeral or see a funeral scene on tv I’m prone to seeing little delusions of grandeur about what my own funeral might be like. I get this little vision of how they’ll have to add overflow seating to an already filled huge auditorium and then someone close to me will talk about who I was and how great I was and someone else will sing some sad song dedicated to my memory and there won’t be a dry eye in the house.

as I sat there eating some of his favorite food with some of my extended family, I looked around at the little table with the collage surrounded by small pots of flowers and overheard people tell a few stories about a guy they had mostly known for only a brief time while we all enjoyed some of his favorite music like lynrd skynrd and I thought to myself: “I should be so lucky.”

Written by matt

December 12, 2010 at 1:07 pm

Posted in decemberblogging

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Matt, that is absoolutely beautiful. I cried as I read it…..Thank you.
    I love you so much…..

    Grandma

    December 12, 2010 at 1:53 pm

  2. That was so lovely. Thank you for all the beautiful words and thoughts. You are one of a kind and I love you more than words will ever say.
    Mom

    Susan Fontaine

    December 12, 2010 at 2:35 pm

  3. Thank you Matt. He was a wonderful, kind, loving man who left a remarkable impression on those that were fortunate enough to know him. I will be eternally grateful for having him in my life if even for too short a time.

    Aunt Jean

    December 12, 2010 at 5:20 pm


Leave a Reply

