overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

dec 15, 2010

leave a comment »

most of the time I’ve been doing this #decemberblogging thing I’ve been at a barnes and noble. I read for a bit, I write for a bit, I go home. this is where I’ve been using the pandora app on my iPhone the most too. because lyrics and melody tend to focus my attention on that instead of whatever I’m reading or writing, I’ve been listening to a lot of instrumental things. consequently, I’ve been listening to a lot of ambient/electronica, euro/synth/pop/rock, and good old classical.
I can see why most classical music lovers are older. it takes a lot of time to catch up on the past 350 years of composing. that’s not exactly a young man’s game. something is confusing to me about that genre though. I can’t tell a good piece from one that’s just sort of average. and do the same rules apply about popular vs. critically acclaimed? does average music even get showcased? I mean, I know what I like and gravitate towards, but I don’t know if that just means I have bad taste in this realm. what if the stuff I like is the hannah Montana of classical music?

I’m probably a total classical music teeny-bopper.

Written by matt

December 15, 2010 at 8:57 pm

Posted in decemberblogging

Leave a Reply

