overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

dec 21, 2010

leave a comment »

I feel like I should maybe explain some of the background to the short story I put up the other day.  if you haven’t gotten around to reading it, don’t read this.  seriously, don’t keep reading.  click here first, then come back if you still want to.

first, it’s science fiction if it’s anything. those are the kind of stories that I like.  I like it when people re-imagine what reality could be if one thing changed just a little bit and what could result from that.

second, I can’t take sole credit for where that idea came from.  it started as kind of a joke in my small group a few weeks ago about how fast some robot-like thing that looked like some dad stereotype would sell if it was programmed to say “I reaffirm your life decisions,” and such.  I think I just took it a few steps further down that rabbit hole.

third, and most importantly, I never would have been able to write something like that if I was still in pain about it.  this is very much a result of the healing process, not some kind of cry for help.

Written by matt

December 21, 2010 at 2:03 pm

Posted in decemberblogging

Leave a Reply

