overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

may 1, 2011

with 5 comments

OK, I’m gonna try to unofficially join my friends for their #everydaymay blog challenge. And what a day to try to start doing that, huh?

This is kind of a hard subject. The unnatural ending of a life should be difficult to discuss, particularly when it’s someone who is so blatantly evil. I’m not one to celebrate the death of anyone, but I definitely want to in this case. Osama was clearly a monster who brought about his own destruction.

I am too.

I feel like Christians like to play the “at least” game when they tell their stories. It’s one of those things that deflects any attention just in case there’s someone with a story that’s way more messed up than yours. I think the reality is that all of our stories are equally important and equally valuable. The hurts we experience point us towards God if we let it, and the grace we receive is just as abundantly available.

I think the same is true of our sin though. It’s very easy to say, “Well at least I never killed anyone.” I haven’t killed anyone, and it’s rather likely that anyone reading this hasn’t killed anyone. Even if you or I have killed someone, it’s not like we killed thousands, right? It doesn’t make you or I any more or less perfect in the eyes of God or any more or less in need of Christ’s sacrifice for us.

I’m fairly certain that Osama landed in hell. I’m also fairly certain that God is just as broken hearted that he ended up there as He would be if you or I did.

Or maybe I’m totally wrong and missing out on one hell of a party.

Written by matt

May 1, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Posted in everydaymay

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Because of his wickedness, I cannot be upset about his death. However, I do not feel the need to celebrate. He is dead. It’s politically beneficial, but it’s also sad that he led such a horrible life of his own making.

    Rose

    May 1, 2011 at 11:07 pm

  2. Thank you Matt. Really…my heart feels so heavy right now, and it feels like the whole world is celebrating while my heart is mourning. I feel weird. I feel so outside-the-box that I’m tempted to settle in with everyone else and justify to myself why this guy deserved it…but don’t we all!? Thank you for reassuring me of TRUTH. Thank you Matt.

    Jenelle

    May 1, 2011 at 11:07 pm

  3. Good thoughts. Getting really irritated with facebook/twitter posts. This was refreshing.

    Rissa

    May 2, 2011 at 10:24 am

  4. Great post….I know I’ve killed more than my share with an aggrivated look, unkind word, or self-righteous attitude….heavy sigh! I agree, that it grieves our God immensely when any soul decideds to live apart from Him for ever…..sad day!

    toooooomanyboyz

    May 3, 2011 at 12:05 pm

  5. I like this post. šŸ™‚

    Rose

    May 6, 2011 at 9:58 pm


Leave a Reply

