overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 5, 2011 #everydaymay

with 3 comments

A few months back I was writing a blog post that I ended up never posting. I even rewrote it with a specific slant in mind with the idea that one of my friends could put it on their site anonymously along with the various other things on their site. I wanted it to be anonymous because I said some things that would easily get misconstrued by people it wasn’t about but who I know read this blog. Also, I’ve learned the hard way too many times that when I’m fired up about a subject I end up writing things that are interpreted as harsher than my intent which tends to get me in trouble. Lastly, I suppose I’m a bit of a coward.

Which brings up a question that I would love some other writers to take a shot at answering for me: where’s the line between cowardly writing and tempering your statements so as not to piss people off? I honestly have a hard time with this as I tend to write about subjects that I and others have strong opinions about. Should I stop writing about that stuff so as to potentially preserve a relationship, or is that being cowardly in my personal convictions? Or are personal convictions better left to be discussed in something that is not as inherently narcissistic as a blog to begin with?

When I discussed with my wife the content of that post I mentioned, she very pointedly asked me what my goal was in writing something like that. I think part of me just wants to get it out of my head. That’s by far not the only reason. If that was the case I’d be just as comfortable writing it down in something less public than the internet. I feel like words die if they’re unread though. I think my goal in writing is to open someone’s perspective or perhaps give words to someone else’s feelings. I’m definitely not saying that my convictions are perfect in any way. It takes all kinds of people for all kinds of people and there even should be differences on some nonessentials.
That probably sounded like some kind of defense for writing the things I write with the words I choose to use, but it’s more like an explanation of why I’m having such a hard time with that question. On a deeper level, it’s more wondering that if the answers to those questions turn out to be a certain way, then what if that takes away my whole reason for writing?

Written by matt

May 5, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Posted in everydaymay

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dude, I the ideas in this post are way too heavy for a blog or a blog comment. All medium is restrictive, in one way or another, and someone would never get any heart across if they’re continually apologizing for or offering disclaimers about their their content.

    I feel you, though. There’s a million words I want to say, but don’t – considering my “audience.”

    Sean

    May 5, 2011 at 8:57 pm

  2. I read your post last night and didn’t have a comment at the time. But as I was debating this morning about something I wanted to write….it came to me that we also have a “responsibility with our words”. There are some things I just can’t write on a blog….even though it might or could provoke positive change….I still have to be careful…I owe that to those who I would hurt or offend….in pursuit of trying to make a point. But I totally understands what you are saying. Now that you have written and published this post, do you feel differently or have an answer yourself? Sometimes when I am able to get something out by writing…..answers come…….just curious:-) Great post, by the way!

    toooooomanyboyz

    May 6, 2011 at 8:40 am

  3. Those are some difficult, intense questions. I’ve struggled with the same problems. Do I owe it to myself to be real, whatever the readership? Do I owe it to them to be tactful, careful? I’ve solved it for myself with a bit of a cop our in my What I Can’t Tell You posts, which are just blocked without a password. “If you can’t handle it, don’t read it,” I tell people. I think it’s a balance though – it’s a balance of you protecting your readers from what you know they can’t handle, and your readers having the sense and maturity to respond to things like adults. It never stops being tough to decide where the line is, though.

    allofalanah

    May 9, 2011 at 5:00 pm


Leave a Reply

