overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 7, 2011 #everydaymay

with 2 comments

For some reason, I tend to forget that God’s bigger than I think.

Having a kid on the way has got me thinking of a lot of things I don’t typically think about. Things like school districts and who the neighbors are and where I might find some decent babysitters. It makes me feel like a grownup, which is still kind of weird thing to me. I’ve also been thinking more about family and, due to it supposedly taking a village and all, who’s going to be around to help me and Amanda raise our kid.

All her family lives in northern California and mine all live at least an hour so away. When it comes to last minute, day to day stuff, we’re really going to be counting on our church to be our family. I also understand that a lot of the time our church family might simply be unable to be there when we might need them simply due to circumstance. I know right now I’m going to have a hard time not feeling “abandoned” like how I talked about yesterday when times like that come up.

Over the last few weeks though, I think God’s been showing me that His family is bigger. I’ve played at a few different churches during that time and at each one I can honestly say I was ministered to by being welcomed and poured into by people I may have only met once. I was continually shown that even if I don’t feel like I have people around to love on us exactly when we need it, there’s no shortage of people who won’t hesitate to love on us how we need it. His family is much bigger than mine, and I need to keep seeing that.

Written by matt

May 7, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Posted in everydaymay

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We are here to help raise your child. I’ve survived through 2…

    David

    May 8, 2011 at 8:12 am

  2. We are here too! Both of our families are 1 to 4 hours away, so we are in the same boat. Sandals family has basically helped raise our kid.. it’s amazing & humbling to see who comes forward to make you food, watch your kid and love on your family!

    kim

    May 9, 2011 at 10:30 am


Leave a Reply

