overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 13, 2011 #everydaymay

leave a comment »

[Not fair. I totally finished writing this at like 9:30 and was in such a hurry to finish it cause I was headed out that I hit save, but not publish. I’m not cheating. I did actually write this on time.]

I saw a small group of people involved in a labor dispute holding some signs outside of their workplace in protest the other day. It actually reminded me of a show I played one time that was part of a Pro-life event.

I feel very strongly about a lot of things, most of which are things the majority of people don’t really care about at all. On the other side of that, there are things that a lot of people seem extremely impassioned about that I almost feel as if I should care more about them. The whole abortion issue is kind of like that. Now, please here me on this, it’s not that I don’t care about this issue. What I’m saying is that even though I’m on the same side as some of these people, sometimes it almost feels like I’m supposed to feel more enraged or be more vocal about it.

When I saw the labor dispute on the street, the people holding the signs had on their angry faces. I couldn’t hear them, but protests usually have people chanting, right? I’ll assume that they did, but they might not have been. At this Pro-life event, which I have to include as a detail was a very Christian event, the people holding their signs had on their angry faces too. And there was definite chanting. What was hard for me was that I felt like there was a lot more anger from the group of Christians, which made me feel kind of alienated from them even though I agree with them. And the harder part for me is feeling like I would be downright scared of them if I wasn’t a Christian.

I don’t know. I feel like there’s room for tension in an issue this big, like going to the far end of the spectrum is taking the easy way out. Or maybe I’m actually just two apathetic about certain things.

Written by matt

May 13, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Posted in everydaymay

Leave a Reply

