overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 15, 2011 #everydaymay

with 3 comments

I’m intensely frustrated right now. I got a really good start on a post I needed to write. I needed to write it for myself more than anything. In fact, it may have been one of the few private posts I’ve ever written. I’m frustrated because I got a great start on it about two hours ago on my iphone, only to have it lost in the ether when trying to save it to WordPress. They need to fix that app.

I’m also intensely frustrated because I can’t seem to get past the subject of that post. I’ve been writing things that are on the outskirts of what I’ve been wanting to talk about and I’ve tried to stray into those murky waters known as “optimism.” I’ve done this blog-every-day-for-a-month thing before and I’ve noticed a huge (to me) difference in the quality of those posts versus the ones so far this month. For some reason I can’t get past this big other thing that I feel is clouding my mind. With my music I’m able to put my big (usually negative) thoughts aside and create. I’d like to think that I’m a better writer than that too, but I honestly don’t think I am.

Maybe this was enough. Guess I’ll know by tomorrow.

Written by matt

May 15, 2011 at 10:54 pm

Posted in everydaymay

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. was this post enough or should we be expecting a followup? if it helps sway your vote im interested in a followup to this post. 🙂

    Cristin Smtih

    May 16, 2011 at 9:22 pm

  2. yes, the wordpress app has issues, i always compose in notepad and then copy/paste if i want to post through the app. just what i do to get around the bugs. sorry this was a lame comment…but i have had the same thing happen to me, so i relate.

    Lori Jo

    May 16, 2011 at 10:47 pm

  3. that is the worst possible feeling. i’ve written whole chapters of a novel, or pull pages of a script only to lose them to the failure that is my wifi.

    whenever this happens, and i guarantee it’ll happen more if you write more, i suggest allowing yourself a short session of solid sulking, then maybe a comfort-cup of coffee. then sit down to write again, cuz clearly God trashed the first draft for a reason, but it doesn’t at all mean that he wants you to shut up. :]

    allofalanah

    May 20, 2011 at 3:53 pm


Leave a Reply

