overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 16, 2011 #everydaymay

with 3 comments

Something struck me at church yesterday. I went to a different one than my home church and the message was about how Christians need to be good stewards of their stuff. This is a message I’ve heard more times than I can remember, but I’ve probably needed to hear it more times than that anyway. I say that because as scared as I usually am to spend money, I find myself growing tired of the same sermon over and over. Of course, thinking that reminds me that I probably need to hear it again and the cycle of pride and humility begin again.

What struck me most this time was the fact that I heard something I hadn’t really heard before in so many words. One of the main verses that gets trotted out on sermons having to deal with money and things is where Jesus tells through a parable that those who prove trustworthy with a little will then be trusted with a lot. I’ve been to a lot of different churches and heard that verse spun a lot of different ways in how we American Christians should spend our money and the reward that is sure to follow. What this pastor said though, was that everything in this life, on this side of eternity, is the “small things.” I hadn’t ever thought of it that way before. Growing up I always thought that if I proved to God that I could be trusted with five dollars, then I would eventually receive ten to be trusted with. While that may not be an entirely false way of thinking, it makes more sense to me to put it in the more eternal perspective.

That makes me wonder about some other things that I’m sure I’ll have thoughts on tomorrow.

Written by matt

May 16, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Posted in everydaymay

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hm, good thoughts. Never heard of it that way either, but I guess in comparison to what the other side holds it is small.

    Rissa

    May 16, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  2. Yea, along side that, I have learned, that when you give in secret you get eternal rewards, whereas doing something and boasting about it is your reward and you wont receive the eternal benefits of it.

    Adam

    May 16, 2011 at 10:11 pm

  3. That’s a good point. The other day, I had a conversation with my lil bro about his cookies. He was talkin bout wanting to be a millionaire someday, but did not want to share his bag of cookies with my sister. Eventually I got him to share with her. I guess in a way, God looks at how we deal with our cookies before he gives us the lottery. Cool post.

    allofalanah

    May 20, 2011 at 3:49 pm


Leave a Reply

