overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 17, 2011 #everydaymay

with 2 comments

Last night I wrote I about how I was given a new perspective about a verse in the Bible where Jesus tells us that if you prove trustworthy in the small things, God will trust with the big things. My new little outlook on that was when I heard a pastor say that everything in this life is considered the small things. That really put a new spin on a verse I’d known and been taught several times in my life. The pastor was using it in the same context as I’d heard it before in terms of our possessions or resources. After thinking about it for a while, I began to wonder if that applied to anything else.

Of course it does. Everything in this life is supposed to be a training or test for eternity, right? And eternity is where the big things are, right?

Throughout the Bible God refers to himself as Father and invites us to relate to him that way. I’m beating a dead horse here, but that’s not easy if your idea of a “father” doesn’t exactly align with who God is. As such, I’m still in the process of learning A. what a good father is and B. how to let God be that for me. I’ve had a few breakthrough moments in that part of my journey, but I still have a hard time starting a prayer with “Heavenly Father…” as opposed to “Dear God…” There’s those moments, though, where I get an idea of what The Father is. Those moments have honestly kept me going sometimes. Those moments are important because as much as it affects who I am now, it affects who I will become in eternity. Those moments are important because God is my father now, but how much more is he my father in eternity.

Written by matt

May 17, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Posted in everydaymay

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like reading your stuff.

    josh vander veen

    May 17, 2011 at 6:29 pm

  2. Very well stated, Matt. I love reading your messages.

    Grandma

    May 17, 2011 at 7:00 pm


Leave a Reply

