overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 19, 2011 #everydaymay

with 2 comments

It got very real today about how soon my son will be making his debut outside the womb. My wife had her first baby shower today from her co-workers, who by the way, were extremely generous and have my intense gratitude.
I’m not ready to be a father any more than any other man in the history of time has been “ready” to be a dad. I don’t even know how you could be ready for something like that. I do find myself getting kore and more excited though. I’m a lot less nervous or scared than I’ve ever been, too. I think I’ve done a decent job of addressing some fears at the root and that’s led to an overall more positive outlook. The only scary thing now really is that there’s so many unknowns. Even with all the parenting books and advice, every person is unique. My son will be his own person, and what works for most may not work for us. At least I know there’s unknowns though, right? I mean it’s not like I’m going into this thinking I’ve got this parenting thing nailed already. That’s the fun part too though, isn’t it; learning yourself and your kid and growing together?

p.s. Fellow #everydaymay folks, love reading your stuff. I’ve been reading most everyone’s every day. I’ve been wanting to comment too, but I’m not good at talking to strangers 🙂

Written by matt

May 19, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Posted in everydaymay

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so excited for you, and def keeping you in prayer. being a dad is a crazy huge thing to undertake, but i’m sure God’s got crazy huge things planned for you, your wife, and your son.

    p.s. you should totes comment – comments are the blogger’s fuel.

    allofalanah

    May 20, 2011 at 3:38 pm

  2. I love the last little PS. That’s how I have felt. I have been attempting to keep up on your posts as well but I have been having to play catch up.

    Brian

    May 21, 2011 at 8:36 am


Leave a Reply

