overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 21, 2011 #everydaymay

with one comment

Is it just me, or is Saturday the most difficult day to blog?

Earlier this week I retweeted a quote from one of my favorite writers. It was from Kurt Vonnegut, who definitely has his detractors, but hit on some pretty brilliant truths of human nature nonetheless. It said, “Another flaw in the human character is that everybody wants to build and nobody wants to do maintenance.” That’s definitely true of myself which is something I really don’t like.

It may sound boring as all hell, but today I did some maintenance work on my music gear. It was in dire need of some cleaning. I was getting scratchy noises when I’d turn the knobs on stuff, there was oil and sweat all over every part of my guitar, and nuts and bolts really needed to be tightened. Unexpectedly, I had to take a lot of my guitar apart to be able to get at some of the components. I got some electrical cleaner junk to help, too. The grossest part was the fretboard on my guitar. Because I play so much and my hands get so sweaty, it was like my skin oils turned the neck a different color. I worked on that guitar (and on my amp and a couple pedals) for about four solid hours. I wasn’t looking forward to doing any of it, but I did really enjoy how good my stuff looks and sounds now. It was quite rewarding in its own way. The most rewarding part though, was seeing exactly how gross my guitar was. So many expensive guitars get put in a case or hung on a wall and never get played, but mine was turning different colors because of how much I get to play it. You should see the formerly white towel that I used to clean it; it looks like a dalmatian’s coat now.

What I love is that tomorrow I’m playing in Irvine in the morning then driving to play in Vegas tomorrow night, which means that my guitar will probably get almost as dirty tomorrow as it was earlier today.

Written by matt

May 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Posted in everydaymay

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Friday’s the hardest day to blog for me.

    Can we get a pic of this well-used and well-loved guitar?

    allofalanah

    May 22, 2011 at 8:18 am


Leave a Reply

