overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 24, 2011 #everydaymay

with 4 comments

[Just spent like 40 minutes trying to the get the text to not wrap around the images. I have no idea what’s causing that, but I’m not ok with it. Bah.]

No single thought tonight, just a few little ones that are fighting for my attention. The first one is actually that after writing a post about cleaning all the junk off my beloved bass, someone asked to see a picture of it. I wish I would have thought to do a before and after of it, but I can get close. Here’s just a quick shot of my bass:


This is a picture of the towel I used to clean it. The dark spots are almost completely from frets 1-7 and it’s just as bad on the other side.


The other thought is that my wife is quite a lovely human being, and one I’m glad that I married. She actually prayed for me in a way I don’t feel comfortable with yesterday. She prayed that more people would see my writing or be interested in my playing; basically that I would just get recognized in some way. I’m uncomfortable with doing that myself because that part of me that doesn’t feel like I deserve anything good has a hard time letting me ask for that, especially from God. Interestingly enough, I’ve gotten calls for gigs from three separate places in the past couple days on top of my band’s schedule. Also, guest writing for a blog as big as my friend’s does this to your stats:


crazy, right?

Written by matt

May 25, 2011 at 2:33 am

Posted in everydaymay

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a beautiful bass. I know basses can be cool, but wow.

    Caleb

    May 25, 2011 at 6:27 am

    • Matt I am Kevin’s favorite cousin Janice. Just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blogs. You are truly a gifted writer. Keep up the good work!

      Janice Davis

      May 25, 2011 at 8:00 am

    • thanks man. that bass is my pride and joy, at least until my kid is born

      matt

      May 26, 2011 at 12:27 am

  2. Funny the war we have with ourselves when God gives us what we don’t deserve. He works beyond us, even our minds. Love him like that.

    Rissa

    May 25, 2011 at 12:58 pm


Leave a Reply

