overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 25, 2011 #everydaymay

leave a comment »

I asked my wife tonight what I should write about as I didn’t really have a subject in mind. She gave me some ideas, none of which will work for its own whole post, but I thought it would be fun to list what she said so that we can all appreciate the depth of her adorableness.
– “You could write about [that thing that happened today].” Just ask me next time we see each other and that will completely make sense, but I think it’ll be wiser to skip that one for now.
– “You could write about how you got to hear good music tonight.” She mentioned that because there’s a really cool monthly thing that Moi plays at called the Blue and Green Showcase that we went to tonight. This is an extremely rare music gathering in Los Angeles. It’s rare in that all the artists are actually good and write good songs and that instead of seeing 4 potentially good (but most likely horrible) acts play 9 or 10 songs in one night, you get to see about 14 or 15 incredible artists play a few songs.
– “You’re my favorite man ever. You could write about how cool it is to be someone’s favorite.” Honestly, that is really cool and quite humbling to think about. Of all the people in the world, she chose me and likes me best, and is committed to do so for the next ~60 years. I’m not even sure I want to hang out with me for the next 60 years.
– “You could write about having the perfect eyebrows.” I do have pretty great eyebrows, which is an odd thing for someone else to notice. I feel like that’s maybe also an odd thing to be proud of.
– “You could give a TMI warning and then talk about when you fell earlier.” Consider yourself warned. My wife was feeling quite clingy today and didn’t want to be left alone. We both needed to take a shower, but both of us are typically VERY content in not sharing a shower. We’re both just very particular about what we like and do not like in the shower. We decided to just do it anyway though. About halfway through said showering experience we needed to trade places and while I was trying to move past her with my back towards her front, her baby belly knocked me over halfway out of the tub. I could have been killed, we just laughed instead.
– “You could talk about having to live with the most handsome face ever.” I don’t know why, but it’s still so hard to accept compliments from her on the way I look. I appreciate it, and I love that she seems to genuinely think that, but it’s like this thing in my head just disagrees with her before I even hear what she’s saying. I’ve never dealt with words of affirmation in the best way, mostly because I think I got used to hearing and believing lies. I’ve improved on this area lately, and reminding myself of the truth (God made me the way he wanted me, she really thinks I look amazing, etc.) is always the best way to keep the lies away.

Written by matt

May 26, 2011 at 1:01 am

Posted in everydaymay

Leave a Reply

