overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 28, 2011 #everydaymay

leave a comment »

The last time I did this writing challenge I spent most of my writing time in a Barnes and Noble furiously tapping my iPhone screen while listening to Pandora. I would usually end up listening to some kind of instrumental music that would either be euro/synth/ambient stuff or classical music. Around that same time I just started listening to classical music in the car. I started appreciating it more and it’s so much less infuriating than any other radio station. Also, the lazy factor. It takes a lot of effort to hook up my iPhone to the car stereo and a lot of thinking to decide to what I want to listen to.

Today I was listening to the classical station and they were playing pieces that were recorded in the late 1920’s and then those same pieces with different orchestras and opera vocalists from some later time. (Quick sidebar. The more I read about the 1920’s, the more I believe that would have been a great time to be alive if it wasn’t sandwiched between two world wars with a side of Great Depression.) Now, I can tend to be a bit of a Luddite when it comes to sound quality. I tend to to be pretty hard nosed about vacuum tubes and wires always sounding better than transistors and circuit boards. I have to say that those very early recordings sounded absolutely terrible. All nasally midrange with no depth or sparkle. It’s a little thing, I know, but it was just another reminder that having a hard line stance on something isn’t always the best idea.

Written by matt

May 29, 2011 at 1:05 am

Posted in everydaymay

Leave a Reply

