overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 31, 2011 #everydaymay

with one comment

And thus ends the month of blogging.

Compared to the last time I did this, I can’t help but feel a bit let down by this month’s writing. I’ve felt very stifled this month. I feel like my writing suffered for it too, both in quality and quantity. I’ll end this month with a little story from today.

Me and Amanda had a doctor’s appointment this morning, much earlier than either one of us wanted to be out and around town. Surprisingly, it didn’t take very long and we came back with a lot of time left in a day with no other plans. As we’re both in a kind of nesting mode right now we’ve been doing a lot of cleaning and maintenance type things and I decided to take another stab at my backyard. If you’re new here, my backyard is the bane of my existence. I really hate doing yard work and that makes the backyard ridiculously overgrown and the cycle continues. Before I went out to do that though, we made a vet appointment for our cat for late that afternoon, but I’ll come back to that. I do yard work about 4 hours before we have to go and, because I’m a lazy lazy man, my arms feel like jello by the time I’m done. Took a shower, stuffed an anxiety-filled cat into an animal carrier, and went to the vet. The stupid animal was so freaked out that she peed on herself though, so when got home it was cat bath time. By that time of day, my allergies were in full force from the yard stuff.

Know how when you get an early start on the day, and you get a bunch of stuff done that you’ve been putting off, and then the day is done and you feel so accomplished? That’s really not the case when your arms are limp noodles that have to pick up and force medication on a very pissed off cat and your yard looks very similar as it did at the start of the day.

I’m done whining now.

Written by matt

May 31, 2011 at 9:32 pm

Posted in everydaymay

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for a great chuckle this morning, Matt. I hope your cat is feeling better today.

    Grandma

    June 1, 2011 at 8:21 am


Leave a Reply

