overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

Reflections on a Father’s Day

with 5 comments

(I wrote this late Sunday night, but haven’t gotten to finish it until today.)

I really wanted to have a great blog post for Father’s Day. It’s been my entire life that I’ve seen this day as something that I’m left out of, and this year is the first one that I’ve gotten to celebrate. Despite the fact that it started out with so much promise, it ended with a bit of a letdown.

This was the first Father’s day that I really feel like I got to celebrate instead of doing my usual reflections on my abandonment issues. My lovely, nine-months-pregnant wife made me breakfast this morning and really went out of her way to emphasize how much of a great dad she thinks I’ll be. She knows what this day has meant to me previously and what it gets to mean to me now. I even (coincidentally) got a very welcome surprise phone call from my sister. It turns out one of my brothers is also expecting a baby only a few weeks after me. Lastly, I had a show tonight and that always puts me in a good mood.

About halfway through the four hour drive though the day took kind of a weird left turn. I’ll spare you the gritty details, but suffice it to say that there were many phone calls and frantic text messages with a few more (likely) uncomfortable phone calls in my near future.

I tend to be a “live and let live” kind of guy for the most part. The phone calls will be uncomfortable for me because it’s the opposite of that, but it’s for the good of myself, my wife, and very soon, my son. And it’s just not fair. It has so little to do with me and I don’t want to do it and I shouldn’t have to.

That’s the trick, though, isn’t it?

The more I learn about what it means to be a man and a father, the more I hate that I would much rather just let things go at the risk of those things negatively affecting my family. I’m beginning to understand on so much a different level of what it means to sacrifice for your family and to lead and protect those who God places under you. This isn’t to excuse them, but I’m even better understanding why so many men just check out of the whole thing: it’s really freaking hard.

I’m not gonna check out though. The first reason is accountability, meaning everyone who reads this gets to administer a very serious ass kicking if I ever do check out. Another reason is that is that I’m already beginning to feel rewarded by doing the occasional really tough thing. I get to look at my wife and see how much she loves and trusts me, and one day I may get to see that from my son.

Written by matt

June 19, 2011 at 11:53 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Proud of you, and ready to kick if need be 🙂

    Derek

    June 21, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    • Matt….I hope you can look back on these posts and see how much God is working in and through you….and that your wife isn’t crazy for believing in you….she’s just has better eyes to see….:-) and I’m pretty confident there won’t be any ass-kicking needed. Praying for you and Amanda. We love you guys.

      Neah

      June 21, 2011 at 2:37 pm

  2. Thanks for this man.

    Sean

    June 21, 2011 at 2:44 pm

  3. great job, Matt– I feel blessed to have read this and to know you as a friend.

    Tom

    June 22, 2011 at 5:26 am

  4. Great insight. Your going to be a great father.

    Justin

    July 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm


Leave a Reply

