overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

The Shortest How-To Ever

with 2 comments

Yesterday I posted on Twitter the following sentence: “Really wish it was easier to grow out of being such an insecure little boy.” I won’t go into the details surrounding that tweet or why I did it. Actually, maybe I will go into why I posted that. I tweeted that because I am still an insecure little boy who deep down probably put that out for the world to see as some kind of “reassurance bait” that would lead to some positive attention. That sort of backfired, in that I was asked a genuine question that demands an actual answer. A Twitter/Blog friend of mine, Rissa replied this: “Deep. How do you do it realistically?” My immediate mental reaction was, “Hell, I don’t know.” That was soon followed by the more accurate thought of, “No, I know the truth. It’s just so much easier to wallow in self pity.” The point is that I replied to her that I sort of have an answer to that but that it is longer than a 140-character long tweet. So, here’s the blog post that explains how to grow out of being an insecure little boy insofar as I’ve come to understand it.

Step damn 1. Discover the Truth. Not the truth, the Truth. The truth is just something that can be thrown around to mean what you want it to, which in the end doesn’t amount to anything. The truth says that we’re all screwed up and life’s not fair and ends there. It’s reality without meaning. But the Truth is that God looks at you knowing the potential that He had always intended for you before the circumstances of a broken world could get in the way. The Truth says that He sees everything you were, are, and could have been and loves you deeper than you’ll ever know. The Truth, however, is harder to see and realize in a day to day existence, which brings us to Step 2.

Step 2. Live out what the Truth tells you. This is the hardest part and what makes it a process as opposed to an event. It’s kind of like making the transition from conscious thought to subconscious thought. For example, you learn how to tie your shoes as a kid and it can take some serious effort to get it right those first several times. Once you grow up a little though it’s something you don’t have to think about at all. You don’t even have to look at what you’re doing, you just do it. I know that God’s proud of me. I know that He made me exactly as He designed and has stayed with me to get me through the junk that’s happened in my life. The problem is that I know that in the same way I know that there was a genocide in Rwanda; it should affect what I do from one day to the next but doesn’t.

Step 3. Repeat steps 1 and 2 as necessary.

Like I said, it’s a process as opposed to an event. It’s also perhaps the most difficult two step process I know and one I currently suck at.

Written by matt

September 15, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Overcoming our perceptions and emotions is something I have to do on a second to second basis. Seems too ridiculous some days, but I go from pathetic to God fearing truth in a battled routine so that I don’t drown. Loved that you wrote this all out! Love how real you write too. Nice job friend!

    Rissa

    September 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm

  2. Awesome post, brother. It’s encouraging, because I’ve learned over the last few years how incredibly insecure I am as well and, even more frightening, how much of what I do on a daily basis is driven by that insecurity. I love what you said about it being a process. Fantastic post!!

    Karl

    September 18, 2011 at 11:55 am


Leave a Reply

