overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

nov 1, 2011 #novemberblogfest

with 3 comments

There’s very little that’s as surreal to me as the transition from married couple to family of three.

For the past six and a half years, my wife and I have shared the same car. In southern California, that’s nothing less than a minor miracle. It’s taken a lot of work and we’ve both had to miss out on some things here and there, but somehow we’ve managed. Now that my son is almost 4 months old and my wife has gone back to work, the one car scenario is no longer viable.

Prior to this, I thought the weirdness of this whole thing was never more apparent than riding that tram into Disneyland from the parking structure. I was wrong.

Out current car is practical, but it’s also kind of fun and definitely not a “mom car.” Now though, the only cars we keep coming back to are very much the stereotypical “mom cars” because it’s actually what we need. Anyway, the whole weird part about this is that I’m realizing that the older you get, the more you become the jokes you made ten years prior. I think that might be the trick to aging gracefully or not: you either accept that you’re getting older and embrace becoming the stereotype or you make a purposely impulsive decision in an attempt to fight the future.

I have to say that at this particular moment in time I don’t see anything wrong with going either way.

Written by matt

November 1, 2011 at 2:48 pm

Posted in novemberblogfest

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “the older you get, the more you become the jokes you made ten years prior”

    love it, Matt….

    David

    November 1, 2011 at 6:55 pm

  2. This is no joke. I’m legitimately getting a Prius in the next few months. My 18 year-old self wants to fight me.

    Sean

    November 1, 2011 at 7:27 pm

  3. Nice. My big moment was watching Dadddy Day Care on Saturday night, and shedding a tear while watching.

    Justin

    November 2, 2011 at 8:03 am


Leave a Reply

