overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

nov 3, 2011 #novemberblogfest

with 2 comments

I’m reading a book right now called “Damned” by Chuck Palahniuk. The concept for the book is dark, but this is by the guy who wrote “Fight Club,” so what can you expect? I have yet to finish it, but so far what the book is about is the first person account of a thirteen year old girl named Madison, the daughter of an A-list celebrity and wealthy finance type who finds herself dead and condemned to hell. I know a lot of you guys reading this have some pretty deep convictions about hell and the afterlife and I do too, but it’s satire, which means outlandish means to make a valid point. For example, a few chapters into the story she reflects on how her ultra-hippie super liberal parents encouraged recreational drug use, but now that she’s dead and in hell she doesn’t know if it’s easier to quit the Xanax or her addiction to hope.

So far, this isn’t my favorite book by this author, but it is funny and I do enjoy the little points that are made along the way. Like right at the beginning, this girl is trying to convey the sensation of being dead and says, “Actually, watching television and surfing the internet are really excellent practice for being dead.” It’s kind of an easy shot to take, but I need little reminders like that this month especially.

This month is going to be more difficult than the other two months I’ve tried to blog once a day for a month. I have substantially less free time than I’ve ever had in my life now that I have a four month old and my wife is back at work, and, confession, but I really really like watching TV and surfing the internet. I’ve never been one to be super disciplined about much of anything. It would be so much easier and probably even more fun to not write during whatever free time I do get than to be on top of getting to the day’s writing.

It’s good to know I’m not alone in that though.

Written by matt

November 3, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Posted in novemberblogfest

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek

    November 3, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  2. I hear you on all of the above.

    Sean

    November 3, 2011 at 2:01 pm


Leave a Reply

