overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

nov 4, 2011 #novemberblogfest

leave a comment »

Today marks the end of the third week that my wife has returned to her job since having our son. She works three 12-hour night shifts a week, but she only did two shifts the first two weeks. So that translates to seven nights that I’ve been at home alone with our son. You might think that sounds particularly easy being that he would be asleep for maybe 90% of that time, but because my wife works nights that means she has to sleep a lot of the day before and the day after. That means I’m on duty those times as well. Before going any further, this post is not to complain about anything.

I tried to go to bed early last night. What that really means is that I laid in bed until roughly the time I would have gone to bed anyway. While I was “resting” I started to think about how it feels like I have been doing the night shift with my son for a long freaking time. Then I remembered that he’s not even four months old yet, so it couldn’t possibly be that long. Then I remembered what I just stated above; that it’s only been seven nights I’ve done this. Then for some reason I thought that only yesterday it seemed like he was only one month old and how fast that time has gone. It finally struck me that those are such competing thoughts that still both feel valid somehow because, like C.S. Lewis said, time isn’t something the soul can really make sense of. We weren’t made with the purpose of aging then dying over a period of time, we were made with the intent of being in fellowship with God eternally.

This is stuff I already knew, but like everything else right now, it’s amplified when I think about the whole parent-child thing. So here’s to the cliche: having kids changes everything.

Written by matt

November 4, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Posted in novemberblogfest

Leave a Reply

