overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

nov 5, 2011 #novemberblogfest

with 2 comments

I’m going to attempt to do something I may regret.

I’ve developed a theory after sifting through the myriad of facebook posts/status updates, specifically politically tinged ones. So, without any judgement or chastising, here we go. It’s no secret that I have some liberal leanings, which put me in the minority amongst my facebook friends. About a year ago, I posted what I believed to be a thought provoking question about the big health care law and received a TON of responses to it, almost all of them extremely negative. Since then, I reevaluated and came to the conclusion that it’s not worth it to me to debate people (and getting some smug satisfaction out of it from time to time) in exchange for potentially damaging a relationship. Since then, I’ve been content to keep my mouth shut for the most part.

Before I go on, there’s a Kurt Vonnegut quote that says, “Thanks to TV and the convenience of TV, you can only be one of two kinds of human beings, either a liberal or a conservative.”

With that kind of satirical sweeping generalization, I offer the following observation: Conservatives can’t publicly say anything without sounding heartless, and liberals can’t publicly say anything without sounding crazy.

Written by matt

November 5, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Posted in novemberblogfest

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i don’t understand why everyone get’s so crazy about it. (it) being politics of course. I probably lean to the conservative side, but definitely don’t agree with all the crazy, heartless conservatives on many things. especially the abrasive loud mouths. makes me ashamed to be on “that side” sometimes.

    my senior year in college i had the most interesting global studies senior seminar class, my professor was a conscientious objector in the vietnam war(i think it was that one) and he had us study two sides of several issues relating to globalization and several papers that had us looking at both sides and it was very interesting. I definitely understand a lot of the view points of the “liberal” side much better now, and from time to time will agree, on certain issues, like immigration for example.

    anyways. just wanted to say that i totally agree with your observation 🙂

    Lori Jo

    November 5, 2011 at 9:55 pm

  2. Yes.

    allofalanah

    November 6, 2011 at 10:29 am


Leave a Reply

