overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

nov 6, 2011 #novemberblogfest

with one comment

I’m pretty sure that all the #novemberblogfest people will be posting later in the day than usual today. I think this because most of them are Christians and are really busy doing a bunch of church related things today, myself included. My band had a show tonight at a church, which is rarer and rarer these days, out in Pasadena. I knew ahead of time that this was going to be one of the harder days for me to get a chance to write because of that very reason. Then I started to realize that most of my real work days fall on Sundays, which isn’t the case for many people who don’t work for a church. All that to say I can’t help but find it a little weird that I and so many other Christians seem to have so little free time on a day that is supposed to be our day of rest.

That’s not an indictment by any means, though. Most people I know who do work for a church take their Sabbath on a day other than Sunday. I don’t feel like I take a specific day to rest. I don’t have a normal job either, so I feel a little weird thinking that I need to rest for a whole day or that the days I’m not working aren’t days of rest in and of themselves. If they are, I’m potentially taking five-day Sabbaths. And if that is the case, I feel like I should feel more rested (emotionally, spiritually, and physically) than I do.

I don’t really have a point to this, so I hope you enjoyed my completely unscriptural take on keeping the Sabbath. Hope you had a good one yourself.

Written by matt

November 6, 2011 at 11:29 pm

Posted in novemberblogfest

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You work every day because you are a dad! I hope you do get a chance to rest.

    Susan Quillen Fontaine

    November 7, 2011 at 4:21 am


Leave a Reply

