overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

nov 7, 2011 #novemberblogfest

with 2 comments

Needing to write so much has some disadvantages to it. I don’t mean needing to write as far this month is concerned, I mean it in the “in order to survive” sense. In that way it’s a lot like music for me. If I haven’t played a set on a stage in front of some people in over a week, I start having little nervous tics. That may be a bit of an exaggeration, but not by much. What makes writing so much more difficult is that I’m not nearly as good at it as I am at playing music, so even when I write something it doesn’t always feel satisfying when I’m finished. It would be one thing if I never felt any sense of satisfaction from it, but there’s some things I’ve written that I’m quite proud of and get the same feeling out of it as playing a good set. The other thing is that because I’m not as good a writer as I am a musician, it takes a substantially larger amount of time for me to create it. Even this post right now has taken me an hour and a half so far. That has to due with my poor ability to turn thoughts into words (just ask my wife about that one) and also how particular I am when it comes to forming sentences.

I hope that the work:reward ratio for writing starts to be unbalanced in the way I’d like it to before too long.

Written by matt

November 7, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Posted in novemberblogfest

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So…flip that around to I’m really good at writing and not so good at music but need/want both equally; then you have the situation I am in. All this to say I understand what you mean. Keep at it; I love seeing you on stage and I love reading your thoughts.

    Jessica Boctor (@PhantomB)

    November 8, 2011 at 12:01 am

  2. Dude. I’m totally there with you.

    Matt Richey

    November 8, 2011 at 12:10 am


Leave a Reply

