overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

nov 8, 2011 #novemberblogfest

leave a comment »

I was going to blatantly rip off my friend Matt Richey’s blog and do a music review for one of these posts, but as I was mentally preparing an outline for it in my head I realized it wasn’t a good idea. What it came down to was that I don’t listen to lyrics.

That’s weird, right? Like how could someone who says they love music so much not listen to lyrics? Or how could someone who says that music helps them connect to God not listen to lyrics? That’s exactly the weird part: it’s rarely lyrics that connect me to anything. Whenever I listen to a song, lyrics just tend to be the vehicle for the melody instead of the other way around like a normal person. Radiohead is one of my favorite bands, I’ve listened to OK Computer and Kid A numerous times, and I could probably only tell you a few phrases from those two albums if I tried. Not that I haven’t connected to lyrics ever. I can’t hear “After the Storm” by Mumford and Sons or “Holy, Holy, Holy” by Sufjan Stevens without tearing up a little. Those are the exceptions to the rule.

I’m kind of okay with that being the case. I feel like it makes me unique in that sense. There’s another aspect of this that I want to explore a little more in another post, too. More on that soon.

Written by matt

November 8, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Posted in novemberblogfest

Leave a Reply

