overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 1, 2012 #everydaymay

with one comment

So #everydaymay once again approaches and I feel compelled to join in. I say compelled rather than excited or something similar because I’ve realized today that a compulsion (for better or worse) is something built into you. It’s not something that you could take or leave depending on how you feel about it that day. I need to write in the same way that I need to be a good husband, a good father, and even to play music. It’s not a choice, it’s fundamental to how God made me. Refusing to do those things tell God that I don’t want to be who He designed me to be.

That, for me, is the difference between sin and worship. I just never put writing with those other things before.

(special thanks to Alicia Divers, whom I’ve never met, for convicting me on what a writer is supposed to do.)

Written by matt

May 1, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Posted in everydaymay

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excited to see what you write this month. I feel that “compulsion” is the perfect word to describe this thing, and the way that my hands decided to write without asking my permission first.

    allofalanah

    May 1, 2012 at 11:11 pm


Leave a Reply

