overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 2, 2012 #everydaymay

with 2 comments

November was the last time I tried something like this. At the time, my son was four months old and I hadn’t slept more than four hours straight since he was born. (Even now, I’m only up to six.) I don’t know what I was thinking trying to write a blog post every day for a month. Without reading them again, I remember that I wrote most of those days even if it was terrible writing and I gave up about three weeks into it.

I think the problem I ran into is that I want and even expect the things I write to be amazing. Every post/tweet/story/essay has to be gold. There’s more than a few problems with that other than my intense insecurity, but the biggest that became clear to me is that a blog maybe isn’t the place for perfection. Hell, that last sentence is a grammatical nightmare, but a blog should really be the place for practice more than anything. You’d think I would know that having spent the ages of 14-19 locked away in my room practicing my instrument. The big difference is that this is practicing in public, and public can be a big scary place.
As terrible as this post probably is, it’s for me. Not you. There might be a few gems along the way, but more than likely it was an accident. This is my practice space, and I need to actually do the work.
Written by matt

May 2, 2012 at 3:17 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am proud of you! Looking forward to your raw thoughts!

    Divers

    May 2, 2012 at 4:34 pm

  2. Yay practice. I am down with practice.

    allofalanah

    May 2, 2012 at 5:25 pm


Leave a Reply

