overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 5 , 2012 #everydaymay

leave a comment »

Nothing terribly deep or introspective tonight. It’s been kind of a busy day.

As someone who loves and appreciates music, I thought I’d share the three albums that I can’t seem to stop listening to for the past few months. I think it’s that as I rotate them I end up covering my main musical bases.

First, M83 – “Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming.” I love the songs on this double album. Countless other reviews have said it better than I could, but I love the imagery these songs evoke. It’s like nostalgia in that you remember the “good old days” without the horrific historical undertones. Also, songs aside, this is easily one of the better sounding recordings in recent memory.

Next, The Black Keys – “El Camino.” This is just good dirty rock with soul and groove. It grows on you with each listen. Also, even if I didn’t like it all that much, this is the one album that will absolutely put my son to sleep in the car. He doesn’t care about any of the slower easier melodic stuff that’s geared for kids. He loves him some Black Keys.

Lastly, The Roots – “Undun.” I actually grew up listening to rap and hip hop in it’s L.A. gangsta rap heyday, even if I was maybe too young to really understand it or remember specific song names or artists. I’ve always felt that this is a genre that got parceled out and sold before it could even grow into itself and really figure out what it was, and I feel like The Roots are taking the big bold steps of self discovery for the genre as a whole. This is an experimental rap album that feels as if it’s pushing limits even if it doesn’t know what those limits are. There’s that sense of freedom that’s also balanced out with the kind of tightness that typical hip hop uses as a backbone. If you don’t find your head bobbing at some point while listening to this album, you may have to recheck to make sure you have a soul.

Written by matt

May 5, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Posted in everydaymay

Leave a Reply

