overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 8, 2012 #everydaymay

leave a comment »

Maurice Sendak passed away today. I confess I don’t really know anything of his work other than my favorite children’s book. I even heard that in real life he wasn’t the most wonderful person to be around. Still, his book “Where the Wild Things Are” remains one of my absolute favorite stories written for children. That’s not a secret or anything, but I thought that this might be a good time to explain a little bit about why.

What this book is really about is having emotions when you’re a kid that are bigger than you know what do with. It’s about that very specific time as a kid when you begin to recognize things like joy and anger before you’re equipped to process and subsequently move on from them. I remember reading the book when I was kid and liking it a lot even if I wasn’t sure why. I think it had something to do with finding it when I was in that specific timeframe of childhood myself.

I remember that time in my life a little more clearly than I might like to. Having grown up attending a private elementary school where my mom taught (the only way we could have afforded that) and also going to church with a pretty well-to-do demographic, I didn’t see a lot of families that looked like mine. When I found that book it was around the same time that I began to see that. Needless to say, it was a pretty confusing time, emotionally speaking. I think there was a part of me that could identify with a kid in a wolf suit losing his temper for no apparent reason, wishing he could be somewhere else where things made sense, and then learning that as big as emotions can seem they are nonetheless temporary.

So I guess I need to thank Mr. Sendak for step #1 of self discovery in regards to dealing with my fatherlessness.

Written by matt

May 8, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Posted in everydaymay

Leave a Reply

