overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 19, 2012 #everydaymay

with one comment

I’ve just finished watching the movie “Moneyball.” If you haven’t seen it, I can now wholeheartedly recommend it. It’s a true story that a book was written about by Michael Lewis who has written a lot of nonfiction books about some fascinating subjects. He also wrote the book that the movie “The Blind Side” is based on. You probably know the premise of the movie: the Oakland A’s were very underfunded and had to use an entirely different way, mainly statistics, to look at the game in order to level the playing field. It ended up working quite well and it changed the way the game is played.

What I loved most about this story is that even though individual players were broken down into numbers, it was because the people putting the team together were looking for value where other organizations weren’t. They couldn’t afford superstars or even potential superstars, so they looked for players that could do a few things quite well instead of doing everything amazing. It looked at what the players had actually done instead of a scout’s feeling about what a player could theoretically do. I really like that, because I feel like I look pretty terrible in some things by the usual standards too.

A couple years ago I put together my resumé. After finishing it, I had a slight depression for a few days. I don’t think a resumé defines me by any means, it was just odd to see what prospective employers would see on paper before they ever met me. I guess I’m just glad that the people whose opinion you truly value don’t ever start with something as shallow as a scout’s report or a resumé.

Written by matt

May 19, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Posted in everydaymay

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loved this movie as well – so glad you wrote about it! At first I thought Brad Pitt was an odd casting choice, but he really pulled it off well I thought, and stayed true to the feeling of the script. A great story with a great moral – you’re absolutely right, boiling players down to numbers to find their value, not their cost…. wonderful.

    Lacy de la Garza

    May 19, 2012 at 11:26 pm


Leave a Reply

