overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 20, 2012 #everydaymay

leave a comment »

My kid is a tough cookie, as some might say. I love the hell out of him, but tough cookie.

My wife and I read a lot of parenting books during the pregnancy and since he’s been born. She’s read more of them than I have, which may mark the only time that’s she’s read anything more than me. I think part of the reason for that might even be marketing. It’s like the parenting books design their covers writing off any man wanting to read it anyway, so they just make it as feminine as possible. Back on topic; I’ve come to the conclusion that I hate parenting books in general. I don’t doubt they’re helpful and contain nuggets of wisdom. I’m just totally turned off by the prospect of reading them, possibly forever.

(Disclaimer: this is just my personal experience, so don’t read too much into it.)

From what I read, every parenting book is written to give you a guideline for how to handle normal baby behaviors. They’re also made to make you feel like a failure if the “negative” behavior continues or you deviate from their guidelines. I have a horrific guilt complex as it is, I really don’t need to feel like I’m the reason my kid woke up every 45 minutes. And here’s the thing: every book with every theory you could possibly read was about someone else’s kid. If humans were as easy as an equation I’m sure someone would have figured it out by now.

Sorry for the micro-rant. I had to vent about this as it’s been something I’ve been thinking about for a while, and a blog is nothing if not a place to just whine about random stuff.

Written by matt

May 20, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Posted in everydaymay

Leave a Reply

