overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

May 23, 2012 #everydaymay

leave a comment »

The other day I was at Disneyland with my wife and son and I kept seeing things advertising the 20th anniversary of their big show Fantasmic.

I don’t have a ton of memories from when I was a kid. Not vivid ones, anyway. I don’t know why, but most of the stuff before I was 12 or so comes in bits and pieces. Maybe that’s more normal than I think it is and my wife, who has a lot of intensely vivid memories from very early on, is the abnormal one. I do, however, very well remember the first time I saw Fantasmic at Disneyland. My mom and I had annual passes back then. She taught at the elementary school where I went and I remember going to her classroom after school had released that day and doing my best manipulating convincing so that we could go to Disneyland that evening. It worked. My mom had some back problems back then so I ended up going on a lot of rides by myself, so what happened that evening was that my mom hung out to get a good spot to watch the show while I went on a few different rides. Because of that little strategy we ended up in the very front right next to the water. It was a pretty amazing show for a kid to see for the first time, especially from right in the very front.

Little known fact about me, that was the very first public showing of Fantasmic, and I was there for it. I realized the other day that was twenty years ago, which marks the earliest very clear memory I have and IT WAS TWENTY YEARS AGO. I’ve seriously never felt older.

Written by matt

May 23, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Posted in everydaymay

Leave a Reply

