overcoming average(?)

because it’s something the world just needs less of

This would have been like 18 tweets

with one comment

This is a short thought that I felt like writing down, but it’s longer than a single tweet and I hate stringing a bunch of tweets together and flooding someone’s feed.

I don’t like candid reality shows. (By candid, I’m talking Honey Boo Boo, Bachelor/ette, and yes, your sacred Duck Dynasty, etc.) They seriously bother me and make me feel uncomfortable, and up until recently I hadn’t been able to really explain why, but I think I figured it out. The entire premise for the viewing public is that it’s just fun to watch. Usually, when people recommend a reality show they’ll say how funny it is. I think this is my problem then. If I’m laughing while watching these reality “stars” on their show, I’m either laughing at them or I’m laughing with them. If I’m laughing at them, I’ve now put myself above them in my mind and think I’m better than them. In some things, I have no problem being a snob, but I try not to do that when it comes how I think about actual human beings. If I’m laughing with them, I’m definitely no better than the people we all know to actually be attention seeking fame whores, which makes me feel like, given the opportunity, I’d have no problem selling my soul to make a truckload of money and get on the picture box. Which is probably true, and makes me uncomfortable.

Sorry if I’m being a buzzkill.

Written by matt

September 7, 2013 at 2:30 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 100% with ya. Great post!

    Karl

    September 10, 2013 at 4:39 pm


Leave a Reply

